Skip to content
November 19, 2011 / missmarymax

Notes from NaNoWriMo

 
Image Credit: Mike King.

Number of words, as of this post: 28,796. (Being slightly behind is totes motivational, so hush.)

Line of dialogue I suggest incorporating into actual conversation: “That must’ve been a hell of a ring pop.”

Random objects highlighted in the action: Salt-and-pepper shakers, mood rings, and packets of fake-sugar.

Repurposed paper the Smithsonian will (inevitably) want to own some day, when I’m a big ole bookwritin’ star: receipts from my workplace, to-do list notepads I won in a college raffle, and crumpled, coffee-stained coloring pages (as found at the bottom of my backpack.)

Totally not-confusing quality of the first draft: its three narrators, who each (sporadically) start addressing a different person as “you.”

Important things I have discovered ’bout said characters: how they take their coffee. (Note: one of the three protagonists DOES NOT DRINK COFFEE. I’m not sure how we’ll do this, she and I. I thought we had stuff in common, but I was clearly mistaken.)

An incomplete list of things I’ve needed to do right now (instead of NaNoWriMo): make 8Tracks mixes, teach my new pet dragon to spell “NaNoWriMo,” and rediscover the entire catalog of Edna St. Vincent Millay. See below.

Fake plot I’ve invented to get through the “you’re writing a novel” small talk: “My novel is about two competing roller derby leagues, respectively headed by Madeleine Kahn and Madeleine Albright. Working title is Battle of the Madeleines. Neville Longbottom makes several brief appearances as a jeerleader.”*

Number of times Amy Poehler is mentioned: One. Shocking, a travesty, etc. Give it time.

Things what I recommend to my fellow NaNo-ers, during this final 11 days: Written? Kitten!, Ask Auntie MJ (particularly these two posts), and remembering to let it suck.

Things I recommend to the rest of you while there is (more or less) nothing to see here: Super-Mattachine is continuing to be made of awesome at his new blog home and hey, look, we’re still doing the 30 Days of Shamelessness. Also, I hear Fraggle Rock is on Netflix. If you’re a Netflix person.

If not, there’s always your free dose of Amy Poehler. (Totally counts as a second reference, by the way.)

*Feel free to actually write this novel. Just say something fuzzy about me in the acknowledgments and forward me a portion of the inevitably extensive royalties. Kthxbai.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Melissa / Nov 19 2011 6:46 pm

    The Smithsonian is going to have some competition.

    So important: “remembering to let it suck”. Love this.

    Fake sugar packets…(head shakes)

    Video of Edna St. Vincent Millay? You know.

    You got this, boo.
    (love)

    • missmarymax / Nov 19 2011 7:46 pm

      1) You’re in charge of the archives, obviously. So I’m just going to put them in contact with you and you can decide if their offer’s worth considering. Mmkay? 😉

      2) Shitty first drafts, all the way. Don’t think, do. Don’t think, do. Etc.

      3) Equal, specifically.

      4) I do.

      5) I got you, too. 😉

      (that)

  2. Melody / Nov 23 2011 7:02 pm

    OMG I didn’t know about Written?Kitten! Cutest thing ever!!! As a compulsive word count updater, I will definitely use that. Auntie MJ has been a huge help to me as well. If you’re a Nerdfighter you’re probably familiar with her “Dare to Suck” video, but if not, it’s a *must see.*

    Sending some encouragement from where I stand at 31,240..

Leave a Reply

